Cummings Early to Mid-Career Scholarly Achievement Award

Sponsored by an OB Division endowment in the name of Larry Cummings, the Organizational Behavior Division recognizes the significant scholarly achievement during the early- to mid-career stage with the OB Division Cummings Early to Mid-Career Scholarly Achievement Award. This award, created in honor of the late Professor Larry Cummings, recognizes the scholarly achievement of an early- to mid-career scholar. The award winner will be announced at the division’s annual meeting at the Academy of Management conference. To be eligible for this award, one must be a member of the OB division and must have received his or her PhD no more than 12 years ago. Nominations are accepted by all OB Division members.  Nominations should include the following materials: 

  • A letter indicating why the person is deserving of the award (e.g. important and novel research questions, publications in top-tier journals, high citation counts, etc.)
  • The nominee's curriculum vitae
  • Copies of 2 of the nominee's publications

To nominate an OB Division member for the 2022 Cummings Scholarly Achievement Award, send nomination materials with the subject line: 2022 Cummings Award to David Wagner ( by February 21, 2022.

Past award winners:

  • 2021 Allison Gabriel (University of Arizona)
  • 2020 Christopher Barnes (University of Washington)
  • 2019 Scott DeRue (University of Michigan)
  • 2018 Russell Johnson (Michigan State University)
  • 2017 Mo Wang ( University of Florida)
  • 2016 Dave Mayer (University of Michigan)
  • 2015 Brent Scott (Michigan State University)
  • 2014 Aparna Joshi (Pennsylvania State University)
  • 2013 Francesca Gino (Harvard University)
  • 2012 Hui Liao (University of Maryland)
  • 2011 Adam M. Grant (University of Pennsylvania)
  • 2010 Maria L. Kraimer (University of Iowa)
  • 2009 Remus Ilies (Michigan State University)
  • 2008 Gilad Chen (University of Maryland)
  • 2007 Don Moore (Carnegie Mellon University)
  • 2006 Jason Colquitt (University of Florida)
  • 2005 Jeffrey LePine (University of Florida)
  • 2004 Jean Phillips (Rutgers University)
  • 2003 Amy Edmondson (Harvard Business School)
  • 2002 Michele Gelfand (University of Maryland)
  • 2001 Timothy A. Judge (University of Florida)
  • 2000 Sandra L. Robinson (University of British Columbia)
  • 1999 Elizabeth Wolfe Morrison (New York University)
  • 1998 Jennifer Chatman (University of California, Berkeley)