Making Connections Committee

Given the large size of the OB Division, the mission of the Making Connections Committee (MCC) is to help develop and nurture relationships among OB Division members. We seek to help OB Division members foster high-quality connections with respect to four distinct needs:

  • Relationships for new members: We help new OB Division members feel “at home” in our Division. We accomplish this goal in several different ways. For example, we have organized professional development workshops (PDWs; for the Academy of Management’s annual meetings) on topics that are likely to be of interest to new division members. We also host an annual research and networking forum where new OB members have an opportunity to discuss their research ideas and interests with senior scholars in the OB division.
  • Relationships related to research: We help OB Division members form relationships that will be useful for their research. For example, for the past few years we organized the “Help I’m Stuck” PDW primarily aimed at assisting doctoral students, junior faculty, and international students with working manuscripts. We also sponsored the “Productivity Process”—an innovative PDW aimed at providing publishing advice to doctoral students and junior faculty.
  • Relationships related to teaching: We help OB Division members connect to others doing innovative things in the classroom. For example, in the past we have sponsored PDWs dedicated to providing teaching tips that enable OB Division members who are passionate about teaching to spend time together.
  • Relationships related to career progression: We help OB Division members meet others who will help with career progression. For example, for the past several years, we have organized a session of Ph.D. students who are “Halfway There” to completing their degree. The PDW focuses on topics ranging from launching the dissertation process to the intricacies of the job market process. Another example is the PDW we have organized for Associate Professors called “Moving from Associate to Full…and Beyond” that focuses on transitioning to Full Professor. This PDW covers a range of topics related to successfully making this transition, as well as topics such as designing an impactful career. Another event we sponsor is the “Junior Faculty Dinner” which is an informal dinner at each AOM Meeting that allows junior scholars at a similar career stage to get to know one another better.

MCC Members

Name Affiliation E-mail
Mike Baer Arizona State University mike.baer@asu.edu
Brooke Buckman Florida International University bbuckman@fiu.edu
Beth Campbell University of Minnesota campbele@umn.edu
Eean Crawford University of Iowa eean-crawford@uiowa.edu
Bart de Jong VU University Amsterdam bart.de.jong@vu.nl
Crystal Farh University of Washington farh@uw.edu
Travis Grosser University of Connecticut tgrosser@business.uconn.edu
Chad Hartnell Georgia State University chartnell@gsu.edu
Jaron Harvey University of Wyoming bharvey3@uwyo.edu
Michael Johnson University of Washington mdj3@uw.edu
Andrew Knight Washington University in St. Louis knightap@wustl.edu
Dejun (Tony) Kong University of Houston dkong@bauer.uh.edu
Joel Koopman University of Cincinnati koopmajo@ucmail.uc.edu
Maribeth Kuenzi Southern Methodist University mkuenzi@mail.cox.smu.edu
Robert Litchfield Washington & Jefferson College rlitchfield@washjeff.edu
Margaret Luciano Arizona State University margaret.luciano@asu.edu
Jenni Carson Marr Georgia Tech University Jennifer.Marr@scheller.gatech.edu
Samir Nurmohamed University of Pennsylvania (Wharton) nurmo@wharton.upenn.edu
Kristie Rogers University of Kansas kristie.rogers@ku.edu
Adam Stoverink Northern Illinois University astoverink@niu.edu
John Sumanth Wake Forest University sumanthj@wfu.edu
Shannon Taylor University of Central Florida sgtaylor@ucf.edu
Ned Wellman Arizona State University Ned_Wellman@asu.edu
Steve Whiting University of Central Florida steven. whiting@ucf.edu
Cindy Zapata Texas A&M University czapata@mays.tamu.edu

2017 PDWs and Organizers

Note: Titles may be changed by organizers to better reflect PDW’s focus.

  • Halfway There: Mike, Maribeth, Steve
  • OB Research Incubator: Bart, Jaron, Tony
  • Research Networking Forum: Brooke, Emilija, Troy
  • Navigating OB: Jenni, John
  • Productivity Process: Beth, Adam, Shannon
  • Mentoring: Crystal, Samir, Diane
  • Networking Event: Joel, Chad, Fadel
  • Science-practice: Margaret, Brad, Kristie
  • OB Ambassadors: Travis, Adam, Hannes

Leave a Reply