Making Connections Committee

Making Connections Committee Mission

The mission of the Making Connections Committee is to enhance the overall the experience of OB members, primarily by (1) helping all members feel “at home” in the division (2) welcoming new members to the division, (3) promoting research excellence, (4) facilitating career progression, and (5) integrating research with practice.

  • Helping OB Members Feel “At Home” in the Division. Our committee organizes the OB Ambassador Program, which is designed to promote an inclusive, welcoming environment for all OB members. OB Ambassadors can be found greeting and connecting with members at a variety OB-sponsored events and sessions throughout the annual AOM meeting.
  • Welcoming New Members to the Division: We have several initiatives designed specifically for members who are new to the OB Division. For example, we organize the OB Adopt-A-Member Program each year. Through this program, seasoned OB members “adopt” new members during the annual AOM meeting and share their knowledge related to navigating the conference and succeeding in academia. We also organize professional development workshops (PDWs; for the Academy of Management’s annual meetings) on topics that are likely to be of interest to new division members. For example, we facilitate a PDW entitled, “New to OB? Navigating the OB Division and AOM.” Moreover, we host an annual Networking Social where new (as well as seasoned) OB members have an opportunity to meet and mingle with senior OB scholars.
  • Promoting Research Excellence: We help OB Division members in their pursuit of research excellence. For example, we organize the “Research Incubator” PDW primarily aimed at assisting doctoral students, junior faculty, and international students with working manuscripts. We also facilitate a “Research Roundtable,” where attendees can discuss their research interests with senior scholars in their specific areas of study. Moreover, the “Productivity Process”, one of our most popular sessions every year, is an innovative PDW in which prolific scholars share tips and techniques that have contributed to their success.
  • Facilitating Career Progression: We help OB Division members progress in their academic careers. For example, we organize an annual session for entitled “Halfway There, But Now What?” for Ph.D. students who are halfway to completing their degree. This PDW focuses on topics ranging from launching the dissertation process to the intricacies of the job market process. We also have a session on “Mentoring Grad Students,” for those who have recently transitioned from doctoral student to faculty member.
  • Integrating Research with Practice. In our quest toward “making research meaningful,” we organize an excellent session called, “Publishing at the Research-Practice Interface,” which addresses ways in which scholars can provide managers with greater access to research findings. This highly interactive and participative session, led by researchers and senior journal editors, advances discussions of the various avenues through which scholarly research can have a stronger impact on “real world” business practice.

MCC Members

Name Affiliation E-mail
Mike Baer Arizona State University mike.baer@asu.edu
Mayowa Babolola Australian Catholic University mayowa.babalola@acu.edu.au
Mike Baer Arizona State University mike.baer@asu.edu
Diane Bergeron Case Western University diane.bergeron@case.edu
Brooke Buckman Florida International University bbuckman@fiu.edu
Beth Campbell University of Minnesota campbele@umn.edu
Jenni Carson Marr University of Maryland jmarr@rhsmith.umd.edu
Nikos Dimotakis University of Nebraska ndimotakis@gmail.com
Emilija Djurdjevic University of Rhode Island edjurdjevic@uri.edu
Amanda Ferguson Northern Illinois University amanda.j.ferguson@niu.edu
Travis Grosser University of Connecticut tgrosser@business.uconn.edu
Hannes Guenter Maastricht University h.guenter@maastrichtuniversity.nl
Chad Hartnell Georgia State University chartnell@gsu.edu
Don Kluemper University of Illinois – Chicago kluemper@uic.edu
Tony Kong University of Houston dkong@bauer.uh.edu
Joel Koopman Texas A&M University jkoopman@mays.tamu.edu
Klodiana Lanaj University of Florida klodiana.lanaj@warrington.ufl.edu
Margaret Luciano Arizona State University margaret.luciano@asu.edu
Fadel Matta University of Georgia fmatta@uga.edu
Michael Parke London Business School mparke@london.edu
Hilary Schloemer Arkansas State University hschloemer@astate.edu
Troy Smith University of Nebraska tsmith59@unl.edu
Adam Stoverink University of Arkansas astoverink@walton.uark.edu
Dave Welsh Arizona State University davidwelsh@asu.edu
Brad Winn Utah State University brad.winn@usu.edu
Kate Zipay University of Georgia kzipay@uga.edu

2018 MCC Sessions and Programs:

  • The Productivity Process: Research Tips and Strategies from Prolific Junior Faculty
  • Halfway There, But Now What? Advice for Pre-Dissertation Doctoral Students
  • New to OB? Navigating the OB Division and AOM
  • Mentoring Graduate Students: Tips, Best Practices, and Life-Changing Stories from the Experts
  • Publishing at the Research-Practice Interface: Editors & Scholars Share Tips for Real World Impact
  • OB Research Incubator
  • OB Research Roundtables
  • OB Networking Social
  • OB Ambassador Program
  • OB Adopt-A-Member Program

Leave a Reply